Back to All Events

California Symphony Season Finale

  • California Symphony Orchestra 1475 North Broadway Walnut Creek, CA, 94596 United States (map)

Something Old, Something New

May 6, 2018 | 4:00PM
Donato Cabrera, music director


  • Brahms waited 22 years after his first piano concerto to write his second, with himself as the original soloist. Haochen Zhang (pictured) returns to perform it here.
  • Unlike other symphonies, Finnish composer Sibelius' Symphony No. 3 has only three movements, compared to the usual four, and the whole work sounds more classical (think light like Mozart) rather than romantic (big and heavy like, well, Brahms...).
  • This program includes a world premiere by our newest composer-in-residence, Katherine Balch, the first female to win this competitive residency with the California Symphony.